March 18, 2019

In just a couple of weeks, Google is shutting down its social network, Google+. While you can download all of your data from the platform directly, the Internet Archive is making sure that content lives on by archiving all public posts on Google+.

Explained in a lengthy Reddit post, the Google+ Archive Project is revealed to have kicked off back in January. Thanks to a group of volunteers and the Wayback Machine tool, all of your public Google+ posts and profiles will live on well past the network’s April 2nd death.

Of course, this won’t include any posts that were on accounts set to private or were shared only with select circles. Further, it won’t save any content that’s already been deleted. Only a small selection of comments will be saved from each post and images/videos won’t be saved at full resolution either.

As it stands, the archive project is currently saving all Google+ posts out on the internet, and you can even watch it happen in real-time. However, if you don’t want your posts and profile saved by the Internet Archive, you can either manually delete your account now or request that a specific page is removed. The Internet Archive also mentions that the biggest thing users can do to help is donate to the project to help fund bandwidth and server costs.

More on Google+:

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.


Check out 9to5Google on YouTube for more news:

You’re reading 9to5Google — experts who break news about Google and its surrounding ecosystem, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow 9to5Google on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our exclusive stories, reviews, how-tos, and subscribe to our YouTube channel

About the Author

Powered by WordPress.com VIP